God is Omniscient

God is omniscient. He knows everything, literally everything….let that soak in. There is nothing outside His realm of knowledge. There are times where that is comforting to me – maybe when I’m waiting on the answer for a job, or if some bill comes our way that we weren’t expecting. However, there are other times that I struggle to understand this, for example when there is senseless killing or suffering.

However, we see this truth that God is all-knowing throughout the Bible:

“Remember the former things, those of long ago; I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me. I make known the end from the beginning, from ancient times, what is still to come. I say: My purpose will stand, and I will do all that I please” (Isaiah 46:9-10).

“Who can fathom the Spirit of the LORD, or instruct the LORD as his counselor? Whom did the LORD consult to enlighten him, and who taught him the right way? Who was it that taught him knowledge, or showed him the path of understanding?” (Isaiah 40:13-14).

“Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD” (Psalm 139:4).

“O LORD, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways” (Psalm 139:1-3).

A couple things for today:

  1. Praise God for this characteristic.
  2. Be honest with God. Where are you struggling to believe this? If you need to, confess to Him, and know that He will give you grace.

Leave a comment